Recognizing Our Chapter Members

David Coverston

By David Coverston
Recognitions Chair
Membership Chair
Orlando Central Florida Chapter STC

The Orlando Central Florida Chapter of  STC was proud to recogize four outstanding individuals during the Annual UCF/STC/FTC January meeting on the UCF campus.

Bethany Bowles, president of the Future Technical Communicators club, was awarded the Distinguished Service Award for Students. This award recognizes exemplary dedication by a student member to a chapter and its activities. Only one student per chapter is eligible for this award, and may only receive this award once. The Society places the names of the winners on its web site.



Sarah Baca, a 2010 recipeint of the Distinguished Service Award for Students, was awarded the Distinguished Chapter Service Award. This award recognizes the work of chapter members who provide exemplary service to the Society through their dedication to the chapter and its activities. Sarah is our chapter treasurer, and has worked on chapter communications, and worked to find solutions to our meeting place issues.



Alex Garcia also received the Distinguished Chapter Service Award. Alex, a long-time chapter member and a former president of the FTC, has served the chapter in many capacities. He serves as an advisor to student members, edits the chapter newsletter, and provides leadership in our social media initiaves.




Karen Lane, our chapter president, was awarded the Gloria Jaffe Outstanding Technical Communicator Award. This award is named after a former UCF educator who was a founder of the Orlando STC, and was Karen’s first technical editing professor in graduate school. Karen has served for a number of years at the society level as co-ordinator for conference activities and at the chapter level as treasurer and president. During her tenure as president, our chapter has won the chapter of distinction award twice. Karen has started her own business and has run it successfully for many years, and has served as  a mentor to a number of students.

Our chapter is proud of the accomplishments of these members and is proud to honor them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.